Journey to the Sinking Lands

A witness to the world's first evacuation of an entire people due to climate change

Catastrophically pink

I am currently very easily distracted. Partly, this is because I am staying at my fiancee’s parent’s house, two hours drive from where I left my long, looming to-do list of things I need to get sorted before I leave for the Carterets. Oddly, this distance seems to make me more worried about not doing any of the things on it, rather than having the list here where I could worry about it properly. Also, being perched on a lap-top lodged between the accumulated remains of bringing up three girls (child-sized wedding dress on pink hanger, poodle with frilly collar, also pink, lots of pictures of cats) makes it very hard to actually concentrate on anything as seemingly serious, sensible and abstract as the environmental consequences of catastophic climate change. In fact, why would you even want to try?

On this note, I’ve been speaking to George Marshall today, for a piece I’ve been asked to write for The Ecologist. George has an interesting take on the issue; “Enough of the whinging eco-puritanism,” he says. You see, we’ve been talking about it all wrong. Climate change is not, in fact, about the environment, stupid. This is a lesson that applies well to what is happening on the Carteret.

1 Comment»

  idiolect » Blog Archive » links wrote @

[…] Why climate change isn’t about the environment (via dan) […]


Leave a Reply

