Journey to the Sinking Lands

A witness to the world's first evacuation of an entire people due to climate change

Onya AST!

Great news. A British company, AST, have offered to lend me a portable satellite modem for the journey to the Carteret Islands. It’s a Thrane & Thrane Explorer 300 and is a very nice piece of kit. It means I am going to be able to keep this blog running even from the islands themselves (the Carterets don’t have electricity, let alone phones, so a satellite modem is the only way to do this)…

This means I can also go ahead with what I hope will be one of the most important parts of the journey itself – I’m planning to link up with a couple of schools so the children can follow the journey live on this blog. It would be a great way for them to learn about the climate change by learning about the people involved. If anyone is interested in taking part, please let me know.

I’ll also be in pretty good company; AST has provided similar kit to the British Antartic Survey, Ewen MacGregor and Charlie Boorman on their Long Way Down, as well as some of my predecessors on Royal Geographical Society (With IBG) expeditions.

ps. ‘Onya’ is an Australianism I picked up while living in Sydney. It’s short for ‘Good on you’, and it makes me laugh.

No comments yet»

Leave a Reply

