Journey to the Sinking Lands

A witness to the world's first evacuation of an entire people due to climate change

Enter the SolarGorilla

Phew, the last few days have been frantic. I’ve been running around trying to get every last loose end tied away while I still can – a task not helped by the fact I clear forgot tomorrow was Good Friday, which meant I had a day less than planned and a whole lot more hurrying to do. It’s now Thursday evening, I’ve stopped and I’m knackered. After I write this I’ll have a quick shower and head out for a last dinner with Elle before we head our seperate ways for the next six weeks…

 

sat-modem-set-up1Most of the fun (in between shopping for kit, visits to the doctor and dentist, risk assessments , press interviews and so on) has revolved around this laptop / satellite modem / solar panel combo, particularly getting each of the different parts to talk to each other. I owe a debt of thanks to both AST (for the modem) and Atkins (for the laptop and for suggesting the solar panel; idiotically I hadn’t even got as far as thinking about what I’d plug the laptop into on a desert island. It’s called a SolarGorilla, comes with enough attachments to plug it into almost anything you could wish for and I would heartily recommend it).Various people on the AST helpdesk also fielded my increasingly harried phonecalls with great calm. The process wasn’t helped by the fact that every time I had the kit set up outside it seemed another April shower would swim overhead and send me scurrying back inside. But, it’s all good, all the bits talk to each other and I even wrote this blog using it.

 

Now I’ve just got to find a way of packing everything I’m taking inside one rucksack – which may prove quite a challenge in itself. Fingers crossed this kit will still be working when I get it out of the bag in Papua New Guinea.

No comments yet»

Leave a Reply

