Journey to the Sinking Lands

A witness to the world's first evacuation of an entire people due to climate change

Sawa to the rescue

I lost the key to my room yesterday, somewhere on the road to Tinputz. There is no replacement so a man called Sawa from the restaurant downstairs showed me how to force the lock with a butter knife. He gave me the knife and I’m getting pretty good at it now. You slide the blade in against the lock and push, hard. I was a little worried about it for a while, but then realised the room is no less secure than it was before I lost the key; it just means I have to carry a butter knife with me when I go out.

Sawa also cooks the food. He has chicken for me tonight, he says. So the same as last night then. And the night before that. You don’t want to know about breakfast.

No comments yet»

Leave a Reply

