Journey to the Sinking Lands

A witness to the world's first evacuation of an entire people due to climate change

Journey to the islands

I leave for the Carteret Islands tomorrow. I have a skipper, I have a boat, I have a very nice woman from the islands whose name is Reuth Marcella who would like a lift home please, and I have a large order for salted fish to bring back with me when I return. It’s a two-to-three hour trip with good seas and the weather looks fine. I am very exited. A lot of work has gone into getting there, and I wasn’t always sure if I would make it – right up to the end there have been obstacles; the latest being a $US 5000 ‘administration fee’ I’ve just been told to pay by the NGO organising the evacuation of the Carteret people. We’ve talked about it. We’ve agreed I won’t have to pay it this time. I’m still not counting my chickens, but if I do make it, I will be very happy indeed. And probably sleep for a week.

1 Comment»

  Simon wrote @

That is outrageous, I’m glad you’re not paying


Leave a Reply

