Journey to the Sinking Lands

A witness to the world's first evacuation of an entire people due to climate change

Plant a seed…

Hell, I was grumpy this morning. Up at six to drive down to a primary school in the Forest of Dean to do an assembly about the Carteret trip. Elle tried to give me a kiss and I think my response was  something along the lines of ‘I don’t have time to muck around’ (note to all fiancees – a; yes, you do have time to muck around and b; you better appreciate it while you can, or priveleges will be withdrawn).

But, the moment I got out the car, my mood lightened. How could it not when as soon as I stood up I could hear the kids in the playground saying ‘There’s Dan!’ ‘Dan’s coming!’ ‘Dan’s coming!’ ‘Dan’s here!’

And it was great. We talked about the trip, they showed me a book they had made following the blog while I was on the islands and I negotiated my way past some pretty tricky questions from the little ones, like ‘Does Father Christmas come to the islands?’ and ‘My mum went to Spain’.

And then, the older class decided that they would take all the proceeds from this summer’s play they are putting and send it out to Tulele Peisa, to help with the evacuation. I was taken aback.

For anyone who is interested, it’s  A Midsummer Night’s Dream. It’s on July 16th at Clearwell primary school and tickets should only be a few quid, if that.

2 Comments»

  Wolfy wrote @

Gold

  Lis Kirby wrote @

The play was brilliant- eat your hearts out RSC.
A big thanks to the children who raised £92 for the people of the Carteret Islands.
We love you Dan,
Clearwell School


Leave a Reply

